Skip to content

Wild berries hoodie

March 24, 2010

The only thing that separates this pattern from your regular hooded sweater is the zippered hood. Which means that it’s a very nice pattern to use as is or simplified. I chose a double-faced red/bordeaux ribbed interlock jersey fabric that will not fray or roll even if stretched in every which way, how convenient is that? If Ottobre’s is brown and turquoise’s is “blueberry choco”, mine is “wild berries”. Had I had an embroidery machine, I’d have embellished the sweater. But DD adopted it as is so it’s ok.

The instructions for the hood are a bit confusing. Every time this’s happened with Ottobre I found that looking at the pictures of the actual garment was a great help. No so this time: the instructions have you finish the hood with grosgrain ribbon, whereas the pictured garment is overlocked. Looks darn good but not helpful. If I’d read the instructions beforehand and noticed the grosgrain ribbon was going to show, I’d’ve substituted it with some nice girly woven ribbon. Oh well, lesson learned.

A bit big at the moment but you get the idea.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. CGCouture permalink
    March 24, 2010 03:24

    Is the black ribbon too? It’s a cute hoodie, she should get a lot of use out of that this spring, and possibly even in the fall (or vice versa, depending on where you live). I’m so jealous at the amount of sewing you’re getting done!

    Like

    • March 24, 2010 10:01

      The black is grosgrain ribbon and the red is satin ribbon. It’s spring here in Germany and getting warmer by the day. You know, most people wish the days were longer, I wish the nights were longer because that’s when I sew (it’s like a 3rd job after being a mom and my day job… oh, and being a partner! Getting lost in my count there lol Life is anything but boring 🙂 ). Sewing keeps me sane 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

