Skip to content

Undecided

January 31, 2010

This is the matching jacket to this skirt. The fabric combination is exactly the same as here. The instructions and constructions were straightforward on this pattern as well.  I bought this issue because of this pattern and I must say I was not convinced when I got done. I threw it in the washing machine and gave it a press but I still wasn’t convinced. Then I sew the buttons on and now I’m still not convinced. I’m afraid if I wait until I’ve had in on a couple of times, I’ll never blog about it. So I’m doing it now. Alterations I maybe should’ve considered is using a contrasting topstiching thread, like a baby blue or silver to match the lining. Also, I wonder if I should’ve made a FBA of size 40 instead of grading it up one size to 44. I need to learn doing a FBA in the first place lol. Here goes:

Pocket lining


I need to reposition the upper snap fastener to get rid of that minimal wrinkle under the collar. Those snap fasteners were so time-consuming to sew on. There’s something going on with the sleeves, first the sleeve seam that somehow came out wonky, and second I believe the armscye should be higher under the armpit. It feels and looks that way (look at the wrinkles). The pockets could be deeper and I’m beginning to think I should routinely deepen the pockets on Burda patterns. The armbands are tacked to the sleeves. What also bothers me is I have the feeling the jacket looks much better closed than unbuttoned. Please, let me know what you think.

All in all I think this is a pattern with great potential that’d look and feel really good in a not so casual fabric once all necessary alterations have been done. Am I going to have another go at it? Not in the near future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 21:01

    Hey! I just wanted to let you know that I featured one of your ideas on Everything Etsy. Thanks so much!!!

    Kim

    Like

Leave a Reply

