Skip to content

Double box pleat skirt

December 14, 2009

You might remember I fell in love with this one as soon as I opened the magazine. I seem to have a faible for pockets that turn into belt loops. And I happened to have the perfect fabric in my stash (I was actually trying not to build up one but the buying just goes way faster than the sewing so there you go: I’m officially a stash owner *proud* albeit a small one). The pattern instructions are excellent. The skirt was really easy to put together. Lined, invisible zipper on the side. The back is unspectacular, darts and that’s it. The fabric is a synthetic, which is good because the pleats hold their shape very nicely. It’s a very fine black and gold fishgrat, so fine it looks like brown. I should try and document the fiber contents of my stash fabrics (yes, my stash ha ha! feels so weird lol)  to know how to press without having to test on scraps. My fingers were itching so I skipped that step and I’m quite sure I came close to burning the fabric while pressing the pleats in, which would’ve made me say words unfit for DD’s ears because I don’t have much fabric left. I doubt I’ll make this up again soon but if I did, I’d add width to the lining. It doesn’t restrict  my movements but it could be a bit wider. I like the swoosh of the lining against the fabric when I walk, though. No major changes, except I didn’t stitch the belt loops down to the waist band because the pocket opening would’ve been too small. And I sandwiched the upper edges of the belt loops to the  between the upper and inner waistbands instead of folding down and sewing on. I was to eager to end, didn’t read te instructions and noticed only to late that the hem was supposed to be handsewn.

I’ll try and edit this post later with pictures of the skirt with substance i.e. with me wearing it. I think the fit is nice.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2009 02:07

    Der Rock sieht super und sehr bequem aus!

    Leider hat es mit der Verlosung nicht geklappt und der Preis ist nach Deutschland gegangen, aber das hast Du ja sicherlich schon gesehen!

    Du kannst uebrigens fantastisch Deutsch, darf ich fragen woher?

    Ich wuensche Dir und Deiner Familie ein besinnliches Weihnachtsfest und einen guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr!

    Liebe Grueses aus Kalifornien

    Maren

    Like

    • lin3arossa permalink
      December 19, 2009 22:08

      Hallo Maren! Danke für die schönen Worte. Der Preis kommt also nach Deutschland aber nicht nach Hamburg. Da wohne ich nämlich. Daher meine Deutsch-Kenntnisse. Dir ebenfalls beste Grüße und einen guten Rutsch!

      Like

Leave a Reply

