Skip to content

Nightingale tunic

October 15, 2009

I’ve hat very little time to sew in the past couple of weeks, let alone to blog. But I did manage to sew this tunic for DD. It’s from Ottobre 4/2009. The fabric is a bordered cord, so I didn’t have to use a complementary fabric like in the magazine, I just cut against the grain, which made the pattern much simpler. For the bib, I used a remnant of this fabric. The buttons on the bib are not functional so I decided to mismatch them, just for fun. The tunic closes in the back with an invisible zipper. I like the details of this tunic, like the pin tucks under the bib or the small darts on the back of the shoulders. I finished it with french seams and had to learn the hard way that you can only finish the armhole with french seams if the arms are set in and not sewn on the flat. DD is happy with this one and so am I:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 17:40

    thanks so much for listing the giveaway for KAThouse designs earrings located on my blog on your sidebar and if you like making things you may want to enter the new giveaway that will be coming up soon for the not so scarey halloween

    Like

  2. October 15, 2009 17:49

    That is too cute! Look at that super model!! 🙂

    Like

  3. October 16, 2009 06:26

    I love your version of this pattern. Your little girl looks adorable.

    Like

  4. October 19, 2009 08:03

    So cute! I love the purple accent.

    Like

  5. October 21, 2009 02:06

    Wow, you are really talented and your daughter looks adorable.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Tammy skirt « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

