Skip to content

Beach cover-up

August 30, 2009

I wore this dress to the beach during my holidays. I love the surprise effect in the back and on a summer hot day, it’s perfect. And if it’s breezy, you can feel the wind on your naked skin, how’s that? This is, I think, my first real jersey garment. At least, it’s the first one I’m really satistifed with. It involved working with twin needles (and strips of bias interfacing), which I was doing for the first time and apprehensive of, without reason because it worked very well and I love that finish. Meaning: more jersey garments planned. Meaning: the stash needs more jersey (good thing DH is not reading my blog. I guess he would break out in a rash right now). The pattern is quite simple and straightforward and there’s really no difficulty worth mentioning there, except maybe that there is some smocking involved on the shoulder back and I decided to try another method than on my Patrones Freesoul dress and zigzaged over the elastic. I found that with a zigzag stitch set to 6, it worked fine, but I still prefer the method with the elastic in the spool. I don’t have pictures of the front of the dress when wearing it, but the back is the highlight, so I guess it’s okay:

I considered sewing a band that would be fastened at the sides with snap fasteners, just in case I want to wear it with a bra, but then I didn’t. I’m not excluding doing this in a near (or not so near) future, though. Here’s the back on a hanger:

The fabric had a 1-m motif I enjoyed playing with. It adds another highlight in the back.

The front is really conservative:

This dress is good as a cover-up with (or without) bikini top or if you’re not going to the beach, with a tank top underneath. Better with a big belt on the hips. with flats just as nice as with heels (or barefoot :)), fits any body type. Perfect.

PS: the magazine also includes a top, which is actually this dress without the skirt.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 13:59

    absolutely stunning and excellent for the beach!!

    Like

  2. Aunt Michelle permalink
    September 1, 2009 11:39

    I’d love to see a picture of the front with the dress on. Though that is a stunning photo of the back. The color goes beautifully with your lovely dark skin.

    Like

  3. Bill Bartmann permalink
    September 4, 2009 08:07

    Great site…keep up the good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

