Skip to content

I present: the masterpiece

July 12, 2009
tags: , ,

She’s shy so she’s showing her back first:

Vogue 1099 - Back

Vogue 1099 - Back

https://i1.wp.com/i80.servimg.com/u/f80/11/20/26/81/cimg4532.jpg

Vogue 1099 - front view

Vogue 1099 - sleeve

Vogue 1099 - sleeve

The sleeve is blind hemmed and the sleeve lining is slipstitched on the fold. The sleeve lining is tacked to the jacket at the shoulder and underarm.

Vogue 1099 - Lining

Vogue 1099 - Lining

Doesn’t that sleeve-facing corner look beautiful? You can also see that the facing is understitched to the garment.

Vogue 1099 - inside front view

Vogue 1099 - inside front view

Vogue 1099 - inside back view

Vogue 1099 - inside back view

You can tell by the number of pictures and the fact that I didn’t really iron it before I took the pictures how proud I am of this garment. The color is deeper than on the picures but still vibrant with a faint shine. This was my fisrt Vogue pattern and I must say, the only thing I didn’t enjoy was the pattern paper. BWOF and Ottobre spoiled me with a much sturdier pattern paper. Other than that, the pattern worked very well despite the fact that I had to grade it 2 sizes (14 to 18). There are several other “firsts” involved with this garment: first blind hemming, first full lining, first understitching and reinforcing of some seams… I learned a whole lot. Those who know this pattern will notice that I skipped the organza undercollar. I thought it was a bit too girly for me, that’s why. That makes me think that I forgot to photograph the collar detail. I might update this post later.

I like this jacket. I But it’s so distinctive that I don’t think I’ll be making another one soon. I do think that I’d look equally good in a non-linen fabric, as long as it’s a rather stiff one. The design is rather timeless so giving it another go in a couple of years or so is not excluded.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. soulnoir permalink
    July 12, 2009 17:01

    Lovely outfit. Great job. Your daughters clothes are so cute. I may need to find a little girl to sew for.

    Like

  2. July 13, 2009 00:48

    Your jacket looks great! I especially like the color and the print lining. I have made this pattern too and I thought it was a lot of work. You should be very proud of learning all the new techniques needed to make such a beautiful jacket.

    Like

Leave a Reply

