Skip to content

Japanese sizing a chinese puzzle

July 8, 2009

I know that japanese sizing is quite different than the western sizing. I know that sizing varies a lot from one japanese book or magazine to another. But variations within a magazine?!? I made the following dress out of the same japanese magazine I made this other one, it’s called cucito Fall 2008. I used the exact same size. It was actually fun and quick to put together. The dress is not hemmed so it was really made in a finger snap. Just one sitting as dd was sleeping, which is also the reason I found out way too late that it was way too big. Maybe two sizes too big. It’s been lying around for a week and a half because I was unsure what to do with it. Now I decided not to fit it down. I’ll put it aside and take it out next summer. DD has enough clothes for this summer as it is anyway.  The fabric is a jersey. I was my second try at jersey. The first one I made as I was just a bloody beginner so it’s no wonder it worked much better this time. Here are the pictures on a hanger since too big to be worn yet:

There’s an elastic in the back:

I think it’ll look even better next summer when she’s gained a few centimeters…

Note to self: always double-check sizing on any japanese pattern.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 09:58

    i love it!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Drape Drape Dress « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

