Skip to content

Desert pants for toddlers – Ottobre 1/2008 and a Japanese dress – Cucito 2008

June 25, 2009

Did you notice that desert pants (also called sarouel in french) are in at the moment? I might not be very fashionable, but my daughter and niece definitely will be. I fell in love with this one-piece pattern with only two seams. Yes. One-piece pattern with two seams. I love this pattern so much it became the first pattern I’ve sewn up twice. In orange for Makeba and green for her older cousin, the only difference being the topstitching on the orange one:

Desert pants Ottobre 1/2008Desert pants 1/2008Here you see the black topstiching

Back of the desert pantsHere’s the front of the pants. You can see there’s no seam.

front of the desert pantsAnd here you can see the back seam.

The fabric of both pants is stretch denim. Cost me 5€/m and I have remnants!

Now scroll back up and look at the thop my daughter is wearing with her desert pants? I made that as well. The pattern is from a japanese magazine called Cucito. It’s from the fall 2008 magazine. It’s actually a dress and as you can see, the neckline is extremely low so it mst be worn with a top. Because of this and because I used a nice brown crash linen, I’d say it’s rather a summer garment. The instructions on how to sew the collar on are pretty weird, and if I make this dress again I will not follow them. On the picture above, the dress was actually done but it was a bit too plain so I decided to pep it up a bit:

Cucito Fall 2008 Dress#9Closeup cucito 1-2008-9My daughter hasn’t seen it with the sequins yet. She’d only had the dress on for about half an hour when I noticed she’d already managed to stain it. I think it was yoghourt. So I sew on the trim and still have to wash it. But she came to the notion store with me and was pretty excited about the sequins so I know she’ll like the final result.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tommy permalink
    July 9, 2009 13:51

    pas mal cool je vais revenir voir si ya des changements

    Like

  2. Christephi permalink
    February 26, 2011 00:52

    The pants are beautiful! I’m about to cut some out for my friend’s daughter and I wanted to see some that others have made. Yours are very nice! I love the dress too. The sequin trim gives it just the right touch!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Japanese sizing a chinese puzzle « Lin3arossa’s Blog
  2. Hug shirt « Lin3arossa’s Blog
  3. Lookbook « Lin3arossa's Blog
  4. Pigeon pants « Lin3arossa's Blog

Leave a Reply

