Skip to content

sewing machine meme

June 24, 2009

No, this blog will not turn out into another UFO. Here’s my contribution to sew,mama,sew!‘s machine meme.

What brand and model do you have? I have a Primera NM900. I never heard of this brand before I bought it and never did since I bought it.

How long have you had it? I’ve had it about a year now. I bought it used over ebay from a designer student that was done with her study and could afford a better machine. I think she’d had it about 5 years before. I had never used a sewing machine in my life (although my mom owned one) and wasn’t sure if the sewing thing would turn out just a temporary lubby or a more permanent hobby.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)? It cost me 50€.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)? I mostly sew clothes for my daughter. Sometimes for me too.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get? I sew almost every weekend.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name? No, my machine doesn’t have a name. I have a love/hate relationship with the poor thing. Hate is mostly when I have to make button holes (4-step :() or when the tension has become off for a reason I can’t figure and I can’t figure how to adjust it back.

What features does your machine have that work well for you? It sews. That’s about it. A feature it has that I don’t use much but that I like having because I know that not all have, is reinforced straight and zigzag stitches. Recommended for stressed seams like the J-curve of pants.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine? Buttonholes. They really don’t look great.

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it! I will edit this post if I recall anything interesting. I have a funny story but it’s not so much about the machine than it is about me. The first time I tried topstitching (with topstitching thread), I also used topstitching thread in the spool. I did manage to do the sewing but let me tell you I didn’t have fun. And then on the next project I had to wonder why the tension was off. The topstitching thread had made the spool tension too loose, of course, so after rescrewing there a bit, everything got back to normal. Just to tell you how bloody a beginner I was (and still am).

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why? All is all it’s a sturdy machine, simple enough for any beginner. I don’t regret buying it.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine? Oh I can only tell you about all the features of my dream machine that I know I’d love: automatic threading, automatic tension adjustment, automatic button hole, sewing and embroidery (very important for kids’ clothes), quiet. I doesn’t have to have 1000 stitches

Do you have a dream machine? Brother Innovis (I thing it’s the european name for the Brother HS), 600 or up. And an overlock.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2009 18:38

    Awami, si c’est bien toi, heureuse de te retrouver même si je suis un peu déroutée par ce blog en anglais. Je découvre avec plaisir tes créations.

    Like

    • lin3arossa permalink
      June 25, 2009 20:13

      youhou, mon premier commentaire! oui, c’est bien moi. Il me fallait trouver un compromis entre mes amis francophones et germanophones donc j’ai choisi l’anglais.🙂 Je vais essayer d’uploader plein de creations dans les prochains jours…

      Like

Leave a Reply

