Skip to content

Knitting Again

July 9, 2014

A couple of months ago, I fell in love with this jacket:

I found out that it was crocheted. I almost fell down my chair when I read that I would need 11 skeins of each color to make this. This jacket weighs more than 1kg (2lbs)! I still had to have it. I perused the internet in order to find the original garn and was lucky enough to get my hands on red and sand (light beige), which I though would match beautifully. Until I crocheted the gauge. Too bad I forgot to take a picture but it just wasn’t was I had envisioned and I was not ready to waste all that yarn (and money!) and much of my time to make a jacket I wouldn’t like. So the one jacket turned into two. These are the patterns I settled for:

I figured I’d use the more tame color for the more elaborate pattern and the brighter color for the simpler design. And this is one of them:

I’m really happy about this. The yarn is a dream to wear. The pattern is designed and written very accurately. Though I cheated: I made a FBA. I knitted the back and sleeves according to my upper bust measurement size and the front is a mix of sizes. There are 550 grams of wool in this baby so I decided to stabilise the shoulders, using a felt wool band that I conveniently found in the notions section of the fabric store. The weight of the sleeves were pulling them down, making the jacket look too big overall. I also stabilised the button and buttonhole band. And I secured the button with flat buttons on the wrong side.

DM is undergoing desensitizing so she helped me sew one of the sleeve seams in the physician’s waiting room (you have to stay there 30 min after the shot, in case she gets an anaphylactic shock) and was amazed at how much time and effort it takes to make a garment. I wonder if she’ll be sorrier to have holes at her knees from playing in school and at the playground?

Projects on Ravelry:

Jacket 1757

Jacket 2115

Crocheted Textured jacket 2147

Other helpful links: Reinforcing knit button bands, here and here

More knitting to come…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2014 15:36

    BEAUTIFUL! And what a great compromise without compromising on the original inspiration piece!

  2. sewbussted permalink
    July 10, 2014 12:57

    Absolutely beautiful!

  3. July 10, 2014 21:13

    So beautiful! I love you Jacket! The color & the pattern!
    Unfortunately I can not knit:-((

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

