Skip to content

Me Wanna Be Banana

April 22, 2014

Last week, I came upon this post showing Princesse Kate in this dress:

Photo : Chris Jackson/Getty Images/E! Online

Photo : Chris Jackson/Getty Images/E! Online

The dress was immediately saved in my Evernote “Inspiration” folder, the equivalent of the Pinterest board of most. Well, I was not the only one who liked the dress. Burdastyle published a post on how to alter some of their patterns to achieve the banana look. But best, StyleArc released a pattern for this very dress a couple of days later, the Catherine dress. Hmm… I’ve been itching to order from StyleArc for eons now. I’ve featured them a couples of times in my Pattern Sightings series, as early as 2011, and again in 2012. The thing that keeps me from diving in is the fact that the shipping fees from down under to Wester Europe are really high, coupled to the fact that their pattern are single-sized. That’s a high-risk buy, especially for a dress pattern where I sometimes go over three sizes in multi-sized pattern. I’m putting this pattern on my StyleArc wishlist, though, that’s for sure.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sewbussted permalink
    April 22, 2014 12:54

    The dress is lovely and I think you can alter a pattern to achieve the look. I know you can do it :) Save your money for a pattern that wouldn’t be so easy to alter.

    Like

    • April 23, 2014 13:54

      You know what? I think I could do it. But sewing time is such an issue and a ready-to-trace/cut solution seems so attractive. But you’re right, I won’t dive in on this one.

      Like

  2. April 22, 2014 17:27

    They have a discounted shipping option for one pattern now, at least to the US. Maybe take another look?

    Like

  3. April 23, 2014 00:51

    I’m thinking the only really special thing about this is the two part sleeve, and that’s just slashing a standard fittted sleeve. The hem section just overlaps a little offcenter. It really does seem like a partially peeled banana now that you mention it.

    My spendy patterns tend to be indie ones that I think deserve my support, or designs I can’t wrap my shrinking brain pan around. Which might include most of the Pattern Magic designs – another example of having to resize the pattern after drafting it. And yet, I stagger through them, making tiny versions for my own entertainment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

