Skip to content

Lalimaya Origami Dress

March 21, 2013

First pic was edited to better showcase the design

I don’t even recall what site/blog it was on. If you look at the archives of this blog, you’ll know that I have a feeble for origami details, even if doesn’t translate in my sewing projects, until this one. So it’s no wonder I fell in love with this dress as soon as I saw it for the first time.

The basic pattern is really simple. No lining, no sleeve, no zipper. The drafting is well done, the pattern goes together very well although the markings are minimal: the creases are not marked, nor is the buttonhole or the button placement. The instructions are brief but sufficient.

The instructions say to zigzag/overlock but I finished the side seams with French seams. The facings were finished by sewing the interfacing and facing right sides together before fusing the interfacing to the fabric, thereby enclosing the raw edges under the interfacing. I read about this technique a couple of years back and again, I don’t recall on what blog but it’s just genius. So much better than zigzag. The button is one of two send to me by the designer along with the pattern. Isn’t it cute? I think it’s one of the Liberty buttons she sells in her shop.

Lalimaya also sells a pattern for an adult version of this dress, as well as an origami coat for children and adults as well as several other patterns and books. I’ll be reviewing this one in a later post.

I have another one of this dress planned in red for DM. This is part of a wardrobe project for a wedding we’ll be attending in May.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2013 11:47

    That is soooo cute!!!!

    Like

  2. March 23, 2013 08:51

    lovely, – a ray of sunshine!

    Like

  3. April 14, 2013 22:10

    Lovely! I love this! I love these books!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Book review: Couture Origami | Lin3arossa
  2. Long Due Pics | Lin3arossa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

