Skip to content

Cardigan with Shawl Collar

February 11, 2013

I think it’s back in 2010 when the Selfish Seamstress posted about it that I bought a CD from Schnittvision… and never made anything from it. But for some reason, when I saw this fabric, I knew it had to made into one those Schnittvision patterns. Here’s the fabric:

$(KGrHqVHJEQFCDWNUOhoBQi9SUkjVQ~~60_3

It’s a 60% wool-40% polyester knit, and it’s from this ebay seller. This colorway is sold out but there’s another one here. The fabric was preshrunk with wet towels in the dryer, I’m sure you’ve read about it elsewhere before.

Now back to Schnittvision. I had to enter a whole lot of measurements into the software to have it spit out my made-by-mass pattern. I have to admit, since I’m not able to measure myself in the back and was not willing to wait a few hours to have myself measured (seize the mojo while it’s there), I tricked and borrowed some of the measurements from the Burda sizing tables. I picked size 40, which is what I usually take before an FBA. The software is exclusively in German but easy enough, I think. The instructions are in German too but they’re rather minimal so not intended for beginners but rather for people who wouldn’t really need them anyway. Here’s the garment I had in mind:

k6ja2_004 k6ja2_030

k6ja2_019

And here’s what I came up with:

Front-open

Close-up

Front-closed

Inside out

I modified the position of the upper button because the collar felt too restrictive when closed all the way up the way the designer intended. I also added a third button, more to hide the button loop then to secure the lapel when worn open.

I’m happy with it. Now I might need a ruffle collar shirt, me thinks it would be a good match… What says you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2013 12:50

    Umwerfend!
    Das Muster erinnert mich sofort an den ‘Esther Cardi’ von Burdastyle. Es ist eine ähnliche Schnittaufstellung nur noch raffinierter ausgeformt. Der Schwung in den Linien vom Kragen , den Teilungsnähten und der Länge ist so schön. Und der Stoff ist auch eine sehr gute Wahl plus diese akkurate Verarbeitung! Klasse!

    Liebe Grüße
    Immi

  2. February 11, 2013 16:13

    Yes, yes! A ruffle shirt for sure. Thanks for introducing this new-to-me pattern company!

  3. February 19, 2013 11:51

    Gads-I made this too! In double sided felted wool (and have used it for the past two winters without any buttons XD). Loving your version-it looks knitted. I couldn’t do the back measurement either – I bravely had a go and messed up XD But it fits fine and looks fine so I use it (with a brooch XD and only at home X).

    • February 19, 2013 12:26

      You didn’t blog about it, did you? I’d love to see it!

      Envoyé de mon iPad

      • February 19, 2013 22:16

        XD no that was 2 years pre-blog. I’ll get it out when winter arrives and put some buttons on it first!

Trackbacks

  1. Cardigan with Shawl Collar – the Fit « Lin3arossa

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

